top of page

Bloody Mary Contest


Sometime in early February, we happened to drive through Stillwater, MN. We passed a bar that had this glorious sign hanging out front and I made my boyfriend drive around the block to figure out what bar this was happening at. As it turns out, the American Legion in Stillwater was holding a Bloody Mary Contest! I knew immediately that I'd be making the trek back to enjoy the array of bloodies that would be offered. I had no intention of actually being a participant! I had sort of jokingly posted on their Facebook asking if they needed a judge, and the response I got was along of the lines of "the customers are the judges, but you can enter a bloody." I tossed that thought back and forth, because I don't really make batches of bloodies, I just make them for myself at home. After some ( it didn't take much) persuading, I decided to just jump in and do it. I figured it would give Bloody Good Bloodys a little exposure. I knew I didn't want to do a traditional Bloody Mary, so I decided to make an Asian Mary. I combined some simple ingredients to make a kick ass, or so I thought, Asian Mary. I did the majority with Clamato, and did about a third with traditional Tomato Juice. I used liquid aminos, which is a healthier, less sodium filled soy sauce alternative instead of worchestershire. I mixed in some wasabi powder, sriracha instead of Tabasco and Kim-Chi instead of pickle juice. I also found a really good szechuan seasoning that I sprinkled in.

We had to make a display for the contest to show how we would serve it at home. I decided to garnish it with some simple stalks of green onion and and eggroll, skewered by chopsticks. Pretty clever I thought!

The contest wasn't huge, which was good, because in a way, I think I was in a bit over my head. A lot of people asked what I did, or if I bottled my mix and sold it anywhere. I didn't have much to go on, except that I do my Instagram/Facebook/Twitter/Blog. I tried to play it cool, but it was tough seeing as how I was up against restaurants, breweries and bottled mixes!!! Oh well, c'est la vie, I had fun anyways and the mix seemed to get a good reception! The best part of my day was that some extended family that I hadn't met showed up, some good friends and more family showed up, and my FANS showed up. This was the best moment ever. These 3 girls came up and said they were fans of my Instagram and were excited to meet me. It was my moment of fame and they have no idea how funny and awesome it was.

Some good friends, Kelsey and Anne!

My adoring fans haha! Kimberly, Brittany and Laura.

Extended family that I met for the first time on this day! Lori and Laurie!

Needless to say, I sure didn't win, but it was a fun day and next year I think I was just join in the drinking of the bloodies!! Below are the rest of the entries.

The winner. American Legion.

I love Spooky Mix, so as soon as I saw they were an entry, I knew I was playing with the big boys!

Pub 112 Catering.

Lift Bridge Brewing.

Quick Fire Pizza.

No-Neck Tony's.


Follow Us
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page